New Beginnings, Death Takes A Holiday…

I really enjoy writing. I’m not great at it. My grammar isn’t the best, and my spelling sometimes has a mind of its own. However, sometimes things are easier to explain via good old fashioned text, rather than waffling on via my youtube video. So welcome.. welcome to my brand spanking new blog, spelling mistakes and all, and what better day to start it, than on the 1st of January?

As all of us do, I did a lot of reflecting in the lead up to New Years Eve. This year has been absolutely nuts. So much has happened for me personally that its hard to list… but it boils down to these three points…

  • I Left Les Miserables. After spending a year and a half playing Cosette in Les Mis, I finally waved the black dress and the famous bonnet goodbye. Emotional doesn’t even cut it. Les Mis is one of those shows that you can never believe you are actually in. Its so huge, it’s hard to fathom that you are playing a role that you have ALWAYS wanted to play. I loved every second of this job and made some dear friends for life. I have so many people via twitter ask why on earth I wanted to leave, and the answer is simple. I didn’t want to not LOVE it. There aren’t many jobs where you do pretty much exactly the same thing every day for a year and a half. Imagine sitting in an office and doing the exact same admin, walk to the water cooler at exactly the same time, and say exactly the same words to your co-workers everyday. This is essentially what we as performers do.Eventually you will begin to want to do something else, its only natural. I left the show on a huge high, loving every second of my job which is how I feel it should be. I  would never want to take an opportunity like Les Mis for granted. I loved playing Cosette. She’s a misunderstood and often disliked character in the Musical, and I absolutely loved the challenge of having limited stage time, yet portraying the story of this poor abused girl who blossoms into a free spirited young woman. The year and a half I spent at the queens theatre in this role was magical. I was part of the 30th Anniversary cast and got to see Colm Wilkinson sing bring him home… A Dream Come True. We performed at the Olivier Awards and Whats On Stage Awards. I premiered a new costume for Cosette, and for the first time in about 30 years Cosette had a blonde wig in the original production! I have had the honour of sharing the stage with some insanely talented performers every night, and I will be forever grateful.
  • I got Engaged and Married! Probably the absolute highlight of my life, let alone this year. Josh proposed within the first few weeks of my run in Les Mis. Planning a wedding on two completely different schedules is a logistical nightmare but we did it, and we had the best day EVER.
  • I moved from London to Brighton. Josh and I both grew up by the seaside and i think it was inevitable that we would end up back on the coast. Brighton is absolutely gorgeous. I’d lived in London for around 10 years before we moved and when we got our keys, it was a breath of fresh air.. (literally). London has always been work for me. There is something about getting on the train after a show and getting off in a different city that is incredibly refreshing. I can truly leave work, AT work, and it makes me a much more stable and grounded actress. Brighton is such a creative city, with yoga centres, small businesses, and an amazing art and music culture. We are very happy here.. apart from Southern Rail being absolute TWITS.

 

So yes 2016 you were personally a very adventurous year… so NOW onto 2017. I always try and make resolutions but they generally only ever last till Febuary. They normally consist of stop squeezing my spots, drink more water, worry less and be more productive. This year i’ve decided to let the year unfold and be slightly kinder to myself, see much more of my friends and generally make time to enjoy life a bit more.

I also have a very exciting new job that i’m currently in rehearsals for. It’s a production called “Death Takes A Holiday” music and lyrics by Maury Yeston and book by Peter Stone and Thomas Meehan…. it’s the European premiere of the follow-up to Titanic by its Tony Award-winning composers. I am playing the female lead Grazia.

The plot in a Nutshell…In Northern Italy, shortly after World War One, Death disguises himself as a handsome young prince to try to understand why life is so precious and death so feared. But when he unexpectedly falls in love with a newly engaged young woman (me), this mysterious stranger discovers that love may in fact be stronger than death.

The book is by multi-Tony Award winners Thomas Meehan and Peter Stone, based on the 1928 Italian play which went on to inspire the movie, Meet Joe Black, with Brad Pitt.

Maury Yeston is one of my all time favourite composers and the music in this show is second to none. Not often do modern day composers write for sopranos. Maurys classical and soaring songs are a JOY to sing and i’m very excited. We recently recorded one of the songs from the show. I’ll post it at the bottom of this blog… also if you would like to come you can find tickets and info here.

Well I think that will do for now. i’ll be bringing out a new video featuring some behind the scenes action whilst in rehearsals so keep your eyes peeled!!

thanks so much for taking the time to read…

love and light

Zoe xox

 

 

 

 

 

 

18 thoughts on “New Beginnings, Death Takes A Holiday…

  1. catherinesblogs says:

    This is so exciting! I love love LOVE this post. I saw you three times as Cosette and you were truly amazing… I’m sure there’s a post somewhere on my blog about your performance. I can’t wait to follow you on your blogging journey… have fun 🙂

    Like

      • catherinesblogs says:

        It’s easy enough to find if you’re a user of WordPress generally because the ‘Leave a Comment’ button is located under your post details at the top. I’m sure it’s easy enough to find but I think you may be able to enable a comment section that goes underneath your posts as well if you customise your theme. Your blog is so pretty, by the way!! I had to play around for ages with my blog so that people can comment x

        Like

  2. Cynthia Chen says:

    Hi Zoe! Saw that you were starting a blog and thought to come check it out. The first time I discovered who you were is when I found your vlogs on youtube about your weeks at Les Mis London, and that was really cool. Can’t wait to see what you do next!

    Like

  3. Calvin Weston says:

    Hi Zoe!
    I’ve never read a blog before and when I saw your tweet with the link in, I thought I’d try something new for 2017 and I have not regretted it!
    I came to watch Les Mis twice last year! As I’m a good friend of Craig! (AKA former Marius to your cosette)

    And I can’t wait to read your next post!

    Like

    • eversozo says:

      Ah fantastic ! I’m so glad you like it! And I’m glad you enjoyed the show. Craig is wonderful and I miss performing alongside him very much !!! I hope you enjoy the blog !!!!!

      Like

  4. Beki says:

    Aw I miss so glad you did this! I’ve loved your work for ages!! Like you I’m a soprano, I’d love to play Cosette one day as well (along with sooo many other characters!) I’m also now very obsessed with More & More, it’s beautiful and I really really want to see Death Takes a Holiday when it hits the stage!
    Beki x
    P.S. If you ever get five minutes I’d love it if you could check my blog out (obviously you don’t have to!!!) http://www.blondeandblank.blogspot.co.uk

    Like

  5. Lois says:

    I love this already!!! You were so very amazing as Cosette and so excited to see what the future brings you! You are such a beautiful performer and i cant wait to see you take on new characters and challenges! Xxxx

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Siri says:

    This will be so fun to follow! Im really sad that I missed you as Cosette, in my opinion Les Mis in London won’t be the same without you, Eva and Rachelle Ann 😦 I really hope to see you and Chris Peluso, I listened to More and More and it was AMAZING!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Beth Gallagher says:

    I can’t wait to be an avid reader of this blog, as I do love to watch your YouTube videos! I saw you as cosette this summer and I totally understand why you love the show so much, and you were fantastic. I’m looking forward to seeing more about Death takes a Holiday, and your rehearsals.
    Beth x

    Liked by 1 person

  8. koko491 says:

    Hey Girl! WELCOME TO THE BLOGOSPHERE!!!! 🙂

    Can’t wait to follow your blog and for all the “lets bring our laptops to a swanky coffee shop and blog together” dates that need to happen this year! Miss your face!

    Kayleigh xxxx
    cupofkoko.co.uk

    Like

  9. Lydia Thomas says:

    So excited to see you’ve started a blog! Very interesting, I’ve been to see so many shows but somehow I’ve never really considered what it must be like as an actor/actress doing the exact same thing every single night. Looking forward to reading more 🙂

    Like

  10. Nicole Ackman (@nicoleackman16) says:

    I am so excited about your blog! Forever sad that I didn’t get a chance to see you as Cosette (I’m from the States) and that I won’t get to see you in Death Takes a Holiday. But that video of “More and More” is absolutely exquisite!

    Always excited to see more blogs that discuss theatre! I have a YouTube channel and blog (www.flowercrownsandrevolutionaries.blogspot.com) that focus on musical theatre amongst other things, as I’m a university student who hopes to work in theatre marketing and publicity. I can’t wait to read more posts x

    Like

  11. Sue says:

    Well done Zoe – singing, acting, jewellery and now writing as well as being gorgeous! Keep going beauty – will check in whenever I have time xxx

    Like

Leave a Reply

